Thank You

On June 25, 2019, Senators Ben Cardin (D-MD) and Rob Portman (R-OH) and Representatives Grace Napolitano (D-CA) and Tom Cole (R-OK) introduced legislation in Congress to honor fallen journalists by authorizing the Fallen Journalists Memorial Foundation (FJM Foundation) to establish a commemorative work on federally owned and administered land in the District of Columbia.

The legislation was introduced one year after the deadliest attack on journalism in modern United States history, when five Capital Gazette employees were killed in their Annapolis, Maryland newsroom on June 28, 2018.

The legislation, H.R. 3465 in the House and S. 1969 in the Senate, authorizes the FJM Foundation to follow the standard legal framework established by Commemorative Works Act (CWA) of 1986 for the placement of commemorative works on federal land in the District of Columbia. It prohibits the use of federal funds and requires the Foundation to follow a process to ensure that the memorial is appropriately designed, constructed and located, and that sufficient funds are provided to the National Park Service (NPS) to maintain the memorial.  Under the CWA, all authorized commemorative works are provided a seven-year period to complete the work unless the group has a construction permit or an extension is granted by Congress or by the Interior Secretary.

The Fallen Journalists Memorial (FJM) Foundation thanks the U.S. Senate for passing bipartisan legislation (H.R. 3465) on December 3, 2020 to authorize the Foundation to establish a national memorial that honors reporters, editors, photographers and broadcasters who have lost their lives reporting the news.

The legislation, known as the Fallen Journalists Memorial Act, was passed by the House of Representatives on September 21, 2020 and is awaiting the President’s signature.  Sponsored by Senator Ben Cardin (D-MD), Representative Grace Napolitano (D-CA), Senator Rob Portman (R-OH) and Representative Tom Cole (R-OK), the bipartisan legislation authorizes the Foundation to begin the process of designing and constructing the first memorial on public land that honors journalists who sacrificed their lives in service to America’s commitment to a free press.

“On behalf of all journalists who put their lives on the line each day fulfilling their duty to deliver the news, I want to thank the Congressional sponsors for their support in shepherding the measure through the House and Senate,” stated FJM Foundation President Barbara Cochran.  “Once completed, this memorial will demonstrate to our citizens and visitors from around the world that our country values a free press, honors the sacrifices of journalists, and supports the family, friends and colleagues of the fallen.”

Fallen Journalists Memorial Congressional Cosponsors

House Cosponsors

  1. Rep. Cole, Tom (R-OK-4)*
  2. Rep. Sarbanes, John P. (D-MD-3)*
  3. Rep. McGovern, James P. (D-MA-2)*
  4. Rep. Cardenas, Tony (D-CA-29)*
  5. Rep. Huffman, Jared (D-CA-2)*
  6. Rep. Cisneros, Gilbert Ray, Jr. (D-CA-39)*
  7. Rep. Carbajal, Salud O. (D-CA-24)*
  8. Rep. Brownley, Julia (D-CA-26)*
  9. Rep. Castor, Kathy (D-FL-14)*
  10. Rep. Kind, Ron (D-WI-3)*
  11. Rep. Matsui, Doris O. (D-CA-6)*
  12. Rep. Grijalva, Raul M. (D-AZ-3)*
  13. Rep. Thompson, Mike (D-CA-5)*
  14. Rep. Lujan, Ben Ray (D-NM-3)*
  15. Rep. Speier, Jackie (D-CA-14)*
  16. Rep. Sherman, Brad (D-CA-30)*
  17. Rep. Escobar, Veronica (D-TX-16)
  18. Rep. Luria, Elaine G. (D-VA-2)
  19. Rep. Griffith, H. Morgan (R-VA-9)
  20. Rep. Espaillat, Adriano (D-NY-13)
  21. Rep. Schiff, Adam B. (D-CA-28)
  22. Rep. Maloney, Carolyn B. (D-NY-12)
  23. Rep. Swalwell, Eric (D-CA-15)
  24. Rep. Takano, Mark (D-CA-41)
  25. Rep. Hastings, Alcee L. (D-FL-20)
  26. Rep. Holding, George (R-NC-2)
  27. Rep. Sablan, Gregorio Kilili Camacho (D-MP-At Large)
  28. Rep. Vargas, Juan (D-CA-51)
  29. Rep. Cuellar, Henry (D-TX-28)
  30. Rep. Garcia, Sylvia R. (D-TX-29)
  31. Rep. Horn, Kendra S. (D-OK-5)
  32. Rep. Clarke, Yvette D. (D-NY-9)
  33. Rep. Johnson, Eddie Bernice (D-TX-30)
  34. Rep. Scott, Robert C. “Bobby” (D-VA-3)
  35. Rep. Lowenthal, Alan S. (D-CA-47)
  36. Rep. Moore, Gwen (D-WI-4)
  37. Rep. Garcia, Jesus G. “Chuy” (D-IL-4)
  38. Rep. Chu, Judy (D-CA-27)
  39. Rep. Waters, Maxine (D-CA-43)
  40. Rep. Soto, Darren (D-FL-9)
  41. Rep. Torres, Norma J. (D-CA-35)
  42. Rep. Johnson, Henry C. “Hank,” Jr. (D-GA-4)
  43. Rep. Cummings, Elijah E. (D-MD-7)
  44. Rep. Moulton, Seth (D-MA-6)
  45. Rep. Tlaib, Rashida (D-MI-13)
  46. Rep. Case, Ed (D-HI-1)

* = original cosponsor

Fallen Journalists Memorial House bill – full text

Senate Cosponsors

  1. Sen. Portman, Rob (R-OH)*
  2. Sen. Van Hollen, Chris (D-MD)*
  3. Sen. Collins, Susan M. (R-ME)
  4. Sen. Blumenthal, Richard (D-CT)
  5. Sen. Hassan, Margaret Wood (D-NH)
  6. Sen. Kaine, Tim (D-VA)
  7. Sen. Klobuchar, Amy (D-MN)
  8. Sen. Whitehouse, Sheldon (D-RI)
  9. Sen. Warner, Mark R. (D-VA)
  10. Sen. Manchin, Joe, III (D-WV)
  11. Sen. Alexander, Lamar (R-TN)

* = original cosponsor

Fallen Journalists Memorial Senate bill – full text