On June 25, 2019, Senators Ben Cardin (D-MD) and Rob Portman (R-OH) and Representatives Grace Napolitano (D-CA) and Tom Cole (R-OK) introduced legislation in Congress to honor fallen journalists by authorizing the Fallen Journalists Memorial Foundation (FJM Foundation) to establish a commemorative work on federally owned and administered land in the District of Columbia.

The legislation was introduced one year after the deadliest attack on journalism in modern United States history, when five Capital Gazette employees were killed in their Annapolis, Maryland newsroom on June 28, 2018.

The legislation, H.R. 3465 in the House and S. 1969 in the Senate, authorizes the FJM Foundation to follow the standard legal framework established by Commemorative Works Act (CWA) of 1986 for the placement of commemorative works on federal land in the District of Columbia. It prohibits the use of federal funds and requires the Foundation to follow a process to ensure that the memorial is appropriately designed, constructed and located, and that sufficient funds are provided to the National Park Service (NPS) to maintain the memorial.  Under the CWA, all authorized commemorative works are provided a seven-year period to complete the work unless the group has a construction permit or an extension is granted by Congress or by the Interior Secretary.

Contact your Representative, Senators
Ask them to cosponsor H.R. 3465 or S. 1969
Need help identifying your Members of Congress?
Find them here: 
Senate & House

Fallen Journalists Memorial House bill – full text

House Cosponsors

  1. Rep. Cole, Tom (R-OK-4)*
  2. Rep. Sarbanes, John P. (D-MD-3)*
  3. Rep. McGovern, James P. (D-MA-2)*
  4. Rep. Cardenas, Tony (D-CA-29)*
  5. Rep. Huffman, Jared (D-CA-2)*
  6. Rep. Cisneros, Gilbert Ray, Jr. (D-CA-39)*
  7. Rep. Carbajal, Salud O. (D-CA-24)*
  8. Rep. Brownley, Julia (D-CA-26)*
  9. Rep. Castor, Kathy (D-FL-14)*
  10. Rep. Kind, Ron (D-WI-3)*
  11. Rep. Matsui, Doris O. (D-CA-6)*
  12. Rep. Grijalva, Raul M. (D-AZ-3)*
  13. Rep. Thompson, Mike (D-CA-5)*
  14. Rep. Lujan, Ben Ray (D-NM-3)*
  15. Rep. Speier, Jackie (D-CA-14)*
  16. Rep. Sherman, Brad (D-CA-30)*
  17. Rep. Escobar, Veronica (D-TX-16)
  18. Rep. Luria, Elaine G. (D-VA-2)
  19. Rep. Griffith, H. Morgan (R-VA-9)
  20. Rep. Espaillat, Adriano (D-NY-13)
  21. Rep. Schiff, Adam B. (D-CA-28)
  22. Rep. Maloney, Carolyn B. (D-NY-12)
  23. Rep. Swalwell, Eric (D-CA-15)
  24. Rep. Takano, Mark (D-CA-41)
  25. Rep. Hastings, Alcee L. (D-FL-20)
  26. Rep. Holding, George (R-NC-2)
  27. Rep. Sablan, Gregorio Kilili Camacho (D-MP-At Large)
  28. Rep. Vargas, Juan (D-CA-51)
  29. Rep. Cuellar, Henry (D-TX-28)
  30. Rep. Garcia, Sylvia R. (D-TX-29)
  31. Rep. Horn, Kendra S. (D-OK-5)
  32. Rep. Clarke, Yvette D. (D-NY-9)
  33. Rep. Johnson, Eddie Bernice (D-TX-30)
  34. Rep. Scott, Robert C. “Bobby” (D-VA-3)
  35. Rep. Lowenthal, Alan S. (D-CA-47)
  36. Rep. Moore, Gwen (D-WI-4)
  37. Rep. Garcia, Jesus G. “Chuy” (D-IL-4)
  38. Rep. Chu, Judy (D-CA-27)
  39. Rep. Waters, Maxine (D-CA-43)
  40. Rep. Soto, Darren (D-FL-9)
  41. Rep. Torres, Norma J. (D-CA-35)
  42. Rep. Johnson, Henry C. “Hank,” Jr. (D-GA-4)
  43. Rep. Cummings, Elijah E. (D-MD-7)
  44. Rep. Moulton, Seth (D-MA-6)
  45. Rep. Tlaib, Rashida (D-MI-13)
  46. Rep. Case, Ed (D-HI-1)

* = original cosponsor

Fallen Journalists Memorial Senate bill – full text

Senate Cosponsors

  1. Sen. Portman, Rob (R-OH)*
  2. Sen. Van Hollen, Chris (D-MD)*
  3. Sen. Collins, Susan M. (R-ME)
  4. Sen. Blumenthal, Richard (D-CT)
  5. Sen. Hassan, Margaret Wood (D-NH)
  6. Sen. Kaine, Tim (D-VA)
  7. Sen. Klobuchar, Amy (D-MN)
  8. Sen. Whitehouse, Sheldon (D-RI)
  9. Sen. Warner, Mark R. (D-VA)
  10. Sen. Manchin, Joe, III (D-WV)
  11. Sen. Alexander, Lamar (R-TN)

* = original cosponsor