The mission of the Fallen Journalists Memorial (FJM) Foundation is to commemorate America’s commitment to a free press by honoring journalists who have sacrificed their lives in service to democracy.

The FJM Foundation will work to enact legislation, raise funds and build a Fallen Journalists Memorial that will pay tribute to the reporters, photojournalists, producers, editors and others who have died while performing their jobs as journalists.

The FJM Foundation will operate under the auspices of the National Press Club Journalism Institute (NPCJI), which is the non-profit affiliate of the National Press Club


Hon. David Dreier – Chair
David Dreier is chairman of the Tribune Publishing Company. He is also Chairman of the Annenberg-Dreier Commission, which has focused on encouraging the free flow of goods, services, capital, information, ideas and people throughout the Greater Pacific.

Dreier served as a member of the United States Congress, representing Los Angeles from 1980 until 2013. A passionate proponent of first amendment rights, he has championed a vigorous and free press. Dreier was the first Californian and one of the youngest and longest serving chairmen of the powerful Rules Committee, structuring the debate for virtually every piece of legislation considered in Congress.

A member of the Council on Foreign Relations, he was the founding chairman of the House Democracy Partnership, a congressional commission that has worked to strengthen legislative bodies in twenty-one new and reemerging democracies across the globe. Additionally, he launched the bipartisan Congressional Trade Working Group that has built support for free trade agreements for more than thirty years.

Dreier is a Distinguished Fellow at the Brookings Institution and a trustee of both the California Institute of Technology and his alma mater, Claremont McKenna College, which has established the Dreier Roundtable to encourage young people into public service. He has served on the immigration reform and retirement savings commissions at the Bipartisan Policy Center. In addition to being an honors graduate of Claremont McKenna College, he holds a Master’s degree from Claremont Graduate University.

Barbara Cochran – President
Barbara Cochran is the Curtis B. Hurley Chair in Public Affairs Journalism at the Missouri School of Journalism. Before joining the faculty, Cochran served for 12 years as president of the Radio Television Digital News Association, the world’s largest organization serving the electronic news profession.

Previously, Cochran served as managing editor of the Washington Star, vice president for news for National Public Radio, executive producer of NBC’s Meet the Press and vice president and Washington bureau chief for CBS News. She has supervised coverage of stories from Watergate to the Persian Gulf War and played a leading role in the coverage of every election and political convention for 24 years. At NPR, she directed the creation of Morning Edition, the program that cemented NPR’s position as an essential national news provider. During her tenure, NPR won two DuPont-Columbia Awards.

Jo Maney
Jo Maney is Vice President, BGR Public Relations. Maney joined BGR Public Relations in July 2012. Prior to joining BGR, she served as the longtime Communications Director for the House Rules Committee, the influential panel that serves as the traffic cop for all significant legislation that moves through the House of Representatives. As the chief spokeswoman for the committee from 2000 to 2012, Maney provided strategic advice to members of Congress and staff and interacted daily with national and international television, print, online and radio reporters.

Vince Randazzo
Vince Randazzo runs Capitol Knowledge, LLC, a public affairs consulting firm. He spent 20 years on Capitol Hill, including serving as Chief of Staff of the House Rules Committee and as a Deputy Chief of Staff of the House Financial Services Committee. He also served as a Director of Public Policy at the Business Roundtable, and as a Senior Vice President and Head of Government Relations at both Wachovia Corporation (which was acquired by Wells Fargo), and then at the PNC Financial Services Group. Randazzo is a graduate of Eastern Michigan University with a Bachelor of Science degree in political science and George Mason University with a Master of Arts degree in economics.


Michael and Jacky Ferro Foundation


Wallis Annenberg

Dean Baquet
The New York Times

Bret Baier
Fox News

Willow Bay
Annenberg School, USC

Amanda Bennett
Voice of America

Tom Brokaw
NBC News

Christopher Dolan
Washington Times

Major Garrett
CBS News

Donald Graham
Graham Holdings

Hugh Hewitt
Salem Radio Network

Brit Hume
Fox News ​

Al Hunt

Rick Hutzell
Capital Gazette

Alberto Ibargüen
Knight Foundation

Dr. John L. Jackson Jr.
Annenberg School,
University of Pennsylvania

Tom Johnson
formerly CNN and Los Angeles Times

Cinny Kennard
The Annenberg Foundation

David Hume Kennerly

Alison Fitzgerald Kodjak
Associated Press

Jim Lehrer
formerly PBS NewsHour

Andrea Mitchell
NBC News

Matt Murray
Wall Street Journal

Jan Neuharth
Freedom Forum, Freedom Forum Institute and Newseum

Clarence Page
Chicago Tribune

Norman Pearlstine
Los Angeles Times

Christopher Ruddy

Tom Rosenstiel
American Press Institute

Bob Schieffer
CBS News

Gerald F. Seib
Wall Street Journal

Joel Simon
to Protect Journalists

Catherine Merrill Williams

Judy Woodruff
PBS NewsHour